Tags

, ,

I came across this blog the other day and it really resonated with me ~ his thoughts on urban planning & architecture fit nicely with my thoughts on old world urban life & culture. And then I came upon this post on why learn Italian.

Over the years I’ve been asked quite often why I’m learning Italian, and besides the obvious answer ~  “But there’s so much to read in italian!” ~ this blog post sums many of the other reasons up so well.

Enjoy!

Le Flâneur LN

la lingua

In my experience, learning and becoming comfortable speaking the language of the new place you are going to be living in is one of the greatest things you can do. Not only is it great for your brain, but it is also, arguably, a sign of respect to the new state and its people you are about to (and are encouraged to) engage yourself with. I mean,  going to Italy and not making an effort to speak Italian is comparable to going to Japan and eating McDonald’s every day and staying away from sashimi.

Although yes, you can get by in Rome without a single word of Italian, but you don’t want to go to Italy just survive, you want to blossom! Some benefits of speaking and understanding Italian include:

-Meeting local Italian friends and knowing that they’re not talking about you in some language you don’t understand

-Helping your…

View original post 174 more words

